Board recognizes Food Service Manager of the Year

By Scott Bleile

Trish Peterson has been named the Mid-East Regional Food Service Manager of the Year by the School Nutrition Association, Supervisor of Nutrition Services William Mengel announced to the Seaford School Board at the April meeting. We are very proud of what Trish has done at Fred Douglass Elementary School. This is a great honor for her and the school, said Mengel.

The School Nutrition Association (SNA) picks six regional managers from across the country.

Trish sits with the students to learn what they like and dislike. She discusses nutrition with all the students, said Mengel. She has students on her council of advisors; she holds taste tests to improve the school food. She decorates the cafeteria for special events and was behind the schools food drive which donates the food to the Food Pantry housed at the middle school. She is nominated by her peers. The nomination goes to the SNA for review and the regional winners are announced. She will be recognized this summer at the national convention. Trish is up for the national award. This is a big deal for her. I am very proud of her.

Mengel also announced to the board that the school district has been awarded the silver award in the Turnip the Beet Program.

This program was launched two years ago, Mengel told the board. We won the bronze award last year and this year won silver. The awards are given to the districts summer meals program.

We provide meals to students during the summer, who no longer have access to school lunches. There are three levels - gold, silver and bronze. We were hoping for gold. We will work harder to possibly win gold next year. In 2016, we were one of 49 out of 11,000 schools. In 2017, we were one of 111 out of 12,000 programs. We are very happy and our staff works very hard for the students and on the program during the summer.

Director of Buildings and Grounds Supervisor, Dr. Kevin Carson, announced to the board that LaDonnya Wise, a custodian at SMS, received her certificate of completion in advanced maintenance and supervision. Carson shared that all schools in the district have been recognized by the EPA as Energy Star schools. The schools use 35 percent less energy and produce 35 percent less greenhouse gases, Carson explained. Each school will receive a sticker and certificate. I want to thank each school for conserving energy.

Superintendent David Perrington announced the three finalists for Teacher of the Year.

Dana Bowe from West Seaford Elementary School, Rachel Gibson from Seaford Middle School and Candance Whitlock from Fredrick Douglass Elementary School are our three finalists. The winner will be announced at our end of the year event on June 12.

Perrington also told the board there will not be any snow days added for students, but one day will be added for staff.

News tips wanted
Call us with ideas for news and features. We're always looking for good stories to share with readers. Call Bryant Richardson at 629-9788.