Democrats take the U.S. Senate and House seats GOP fares better in Sussex County races

By Bryant L. Richardson

The voters have spoken. Democrat Chris Coons will fill out the remaining four years of Vice President Joe Biden's term in the Senate. Biden stepped down from his seat after his election in November 2008 as vice president. Former Biden aide Ted Kaufman was named as an interim replacement, and said at the time he would not run to finish out the term of office.

Despite national attention, Republican Christine O'Donnell was only able to capture 40 percent of the vote. Coons captured 173,900 votes or 56.6 percent and O'Donnell 123,025 votes.

Democrat John C. Carney Jr. is Delaware's next U.S. Representative, capturing 173,443 votes, just 457 fewer votes than Coons. Glen Urquhart was given 125,408 votes, a couple of thousand more than O'Donnell, in his race for Delaware's lone Representative seat.

Top vote getter in Delaware was Democrat Beau Biden, who was re-elected as Attorney General with 203,824 votes. His only challenger was Independent Doug Campbell, who collected 54,485 votes, or 21.1 percent of the vote.

In a very close race, Republican R. Thomas Wagner Jr. won re-election as state auditor by a vote of 150,110 or 50.4 percent over Democrat Richard Korn, who captured 147,504 votes. The difference of 2,606 votes in this statewide race.

State Senator Joseph W. Booth (R) was unopposed. Voters gave him 10,554 votes for his re-election to the 19th District.

The only local contested race for the state House of Representatives was in the 35th District where David L. Wilson (R) was re-elected by a vote of 4,719 to 1,995 over Democratic challenger James J. Westhoff.

Unopposed in western Sussex County were state Reps. Danny Short of Seaford and Biff Lee of Laurel, both Republicans. Short captured 4,562 votes and Lee 5,342 votes.

Republicans won all the contested seats in the county races. Cynthia Green won the Register of Wills race by a vote of 39,443 to 29,270 over Gregory Fuller Jr.

Scott M. Dailey won the office of Recorder of Deeds by a vote of 34,916 to 33,300 over John F. Brady, who ran not only as a Democrat, but also as a Working Families Party candidate.

As a Working Party candidate, he was given 755 votes. When you add his two totals together, his vote count is 34,055, just 861 under Dailey.

Vance Phillips of Laurel won re-election by a vote of 8,141 to 5,330 over Dennis V. Cordrey in the District 5 County Council race and George B. Cole won re-election in the District 4 race by a vote of 10,562 to 6,849 over Russell K. Melrath.

In the race for Sussex County sheriff, challenger Jeffrey S. Christopher beat incumbent Eric. D. Swanson by a vote of 36,900 to 31,635.

News tips wanted
Call us with ideas for news and features. We're always looking for good stories to share with readers. Call Bryant Richardson at 629-9788.