Bridgeville Events
Thursday, April 27th, 2000
 
Meet the board candidates
The Woodbridge Elementary and Secondary PTAs will hold a meet the candidates night to introduce candidates in the upcoming school board election. The meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 10, 7 p.m. in the high school auditorium. Refreshments will be served. The candidates for the election, set for May 13, are Starlyn Adams and Paul Breeding, both of Greenwood.

Seniors to hold car wash
The Bridgeville Senior Center is holding a combined car wash and bake sale on Saturday, May 6, at the corner of Main and Market streets, from 9 a.m. to noon.

Meeting to look at planning
On May 8, at 7 p.m. in the Bridgeville Town Hall, the town commission and the planning commission will hear a presentation by the University of Delaware regarding the preparation of a comprehensive plan for the town. The nature and scope of the comprehensive plan will be described and input will be sought about planning issues. The public is welcome.

The Greenwood CHEER Senior Center has planned the following activities:
Thursday, April 27 - Roxana and Bridgeville Centers will visit. Ad Hoc will entertain with script reading of the Fibber McGee and Molly scripts.
Friday, April 28 - Bingo in the morning. Members will eat early and leave at approximately 4 p.m. for the spring gala dinner and dance from 6-10 p.m. at the new Georgetown Center.
Monday, May 1 - Bible study at 10:30 with Alan Everline.
Tuesday, May 2 - Shopping trip to Walmart, Milford, leaving at approximately 9:30 a.m.
Wednesday, May 3 - Trip to Adams market at 9:30 a.m. Nutrition education program on "Dash Diet-High Blood Pressure" at 11:30 a.m., by Suzanne Marsh.
Thursday, May 4 - Home health care program on allergies at 10:30 a.m. Grocery shopping after lunch.
Friday, May 5 - Blue Cross assistance from 9:30 to 11 a.m. by Judi Howard. Janet Dennis from Avon will visit. Sturgis Dodge will have a program at 10:30 a.m. on "Aging: What's Normal and What's Not."
Monday, May 8 - Bible study at 10:30 with the Rev. John Passwaters.
Tuesday, May 9 - Trip to Tullys Ale House for lunch and entertainment by F.P. Cheer. "Mother's Special" is the program.
Wednesday, May 10 - A trip visit to Georgetown Center, leaving at approximately 9:30 a.m.
Thursday, May 11 - 10:30 a.m., a program on the new Delaware Prescription Program. Grocery shopping after lunch.
Friday, May 12 - Mother's Day program. The "Grandads" will entertain at 10:30 a.m
Monday, May 15 - Bible study at 10:30 with the Rev. Ervin Lockhart.
Tuesday, May 16 - Trip to Slaughter Neck for their open house, leaving at approximately 9:30 a.m.
Wednesday, May 17 - Open house here with the Woodbridge Jazz Band to entertain. Laurel and Slaughter Neck Centers will visit.
Thursday, May 18 - trip to the Cambridge Senior Celebration, leaving at approximately 9:30 a.m. Eat out.

The Bridgeville Senior Center has planned the following events:
Monday, May 1 - Bingo, 10 a.m.; D.E. Jones and bread store after lunch.
Tuesday, May 2 - Members meeting, 10 a.m.
Wednesday, May 3 - 9 a.m., trip to the bank and post office; 10 a.m., Bible study; "show & tell" after.
Thursday, May 4 - 10 a.m., blood pressure check.
Friday, May 5 - Visit to the Roxana Senior Center for its open house, lunch and entertainment.
Monday, May 8 - 10 a.m., crafts; shopping after lunch at Food Lion.
Tuesday, May 9 - Exercise time
Wednesday, May 10 - 9 a.m., bank/post office; 10 a.m., Bible study; "Show & Tell" after.
Thursday, May 11 - Laurel Senior Center will visit for lunch and special entertainment.
Friday, May 12 - 10 a.m. - ceramics; Entemen's after lunch.
Monday, May 15 - Sturgis Dodge from Catholic Charities here for presentation.
Tuesday, May 16 - Members will visit Slaughter Neck for open house, lunch and entertainment.
Wednesday, May 17 - 9 a.m., bank/post office; 10 a.m., Bible study; "Show & Tell" after.
Thursday, May 18 - 10 a.m., bowling. No charge, but shoes cost $1.
Friday, May 19 - R.S.V.P. luncheon at Nanticoke Senior Center, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Monday, May 22 - Crafts, 10 a.m.; shopping after lunch at Wal-Mart.
Tuesday, May 23 - Exercise time. Ames after lunch.
Wednesday, May 24 - 9 a.m., bank/post office; 10 a.m., Bible study; "Show & Tell" after.
Thursday, May 25 - 10 a.m., crafts; Dutch Market after lunch.
Friday, May 26 - Older American's Day celebration at Allen building in Georgetown.
Monday, May 29 - Memorial Day Holiday; office closed.
Tuesday, May 30 - Movie with popcorn, 10 a.m.
Wednesday, May 31 - 9 a.m., bank/post office; 10 a.m., Bible study; "Show & Tell" after.