Greenwood Events
Thursday, January 31, 2002
 

Markell Fundraiser dinner
A Fundraiser Dinner for Jack Markell, state treasurer, will be held on Feb. 9, at the Bridgeville Fire Hall, at 6 p.m. Cost is $20 a person for an all-you-can-eat “Chicken and Dumpling Dinner.” For tickets call Pat Farley at 226-9044, or George Adams at 349-4819 by Feb. 1.

Senior center plans activities
The Bridgeville Senior Center is planning the following:
Friday, Feb. 2 - Members meeting.
Monday, Feb. 4 - Members of the Oak Orchard club will visit, bingo.
Tuesday, Feb. 5 - a visit to the Milford center.
Wednesday, Feb. 6 - Bible study.
Thursday, Feb. 7 - Morning exercise, a trip to the Save-A-Lot in the afternoon.
Friday, Feb. 8 - A trip to the flea market in the morning.
Monday, Feb. 11 - A visit to the Nanticoke Senior Center, Seaford.
Tuesday, Feb. 12 - Surprise Valentines.
Wednesday, Feb. 13 - Bible study.
Thursday, Feb. 14 - Valentine celebration at the Allen building, Georgetown
Friday, Feb. 15 - Blood pressure checks in the morning, a trip to Wal-Mart in the afternoon.
Monday, Feb. 18 - Presidents’ Day, center closed.
Tuesday, Feb. 19 - To Rose’s and Ames in the morning.
Wednesday, Feb. 20 - Bible study.
Thursday, Feb. 21 - Bowling in a.m.
Friday, Feb. 22 - Federalsburg, a.m.; Food Lion shopping, p.m.
Monday, Feb. 25 - Roxana here; The Price Is Right.
Tuesday, Feb. 26 - Dover Mall and K-mart shopping
Wednesday, Feb. 27 - Bible study.
Thursday, Feb. 28 - Crafts in a.m.; and Save-A-Lot in p.m.

Old engine 4 finds home in Tennessee
By Lynn R. Parks
At 30, engine 4 is an old fire truck. It is time for something faster, something more modern, to replace it. Members of the Bridgeville Volunteer Fire Department understood that. They ordered a $280,000 truck to take the place of the old pumper. Even so, they were sad to see the old truck, bought in 1972 at a cost of $30,000, go. “It’s in excellent shape,” said chief Jack Cannon. “All DOT inspected, new tires. But it is just old.” The company was ready to sell the engine; asking price would have been about $15,000, Cannon said. But then, the proverbial offer they couldn’t refuse came along. Chief engineer Jack Hastings has a brother-in-law who is a member of the Cedar Creek Fire Company in Linden, Tenn. That company, staffed with volunteers, operates out of a metal building and has one fire truck, a 1965 pumper. “He heard about this pumper that we were going to sell and he wanted to know if his department could have it,” Cannon said. “We told him, ‘You’ve got it.’ “ On Friday, members of the Bridgeville department traveled to Linden to deliver the 1,150-gallon truck, fully equipped, to the Cedar Creek Fire Company. The truck made the journey on a flatbed truck donated by Hopkins Construction and driven by Clay Willey. In addition to the truck, the volunteers also took with them radio equipment, donated by the Greenwood Volunteer Fire Department, coats from the Seaford fire department and breathing apparatus, donated by firefighters in Cheswald. Cedar Creek Fire Department didn’t have any radios, Cannon said. In case of fire, the volunteers called one another on the telephone to sound the alarm. The department, which responds to about 15 fires a year, also did not have any uniforms in which to fight fires. Thursday morning, engine 4 sat in the Bridgeville fire hall, shining and ready for its journey. Painted on its doors, replacing the logo that had once been there, were the words “Cedar Creek Fire Company.” “We wanted to get that done for them,” Cannon said. The paint job was done by Rogers Signs, Milton, at cost. Cannon said that the Cedar Creek department receives about $2,000 annually from state and county funds. In contrast, the Bridgeville department gets about $200,000 from the state and county. “We hate to see this old truck go,” Cannon said. “But we know that we are doing a good thing. It makes us feel a lot better, giving it to somebody who needs it.”